Print Friendly and PDF
only search
Julian Stern

openDemocracy's Team


Editor-in-Chief: Mary Fitzgerald

Acting Chief ExecutiveCathy Runciman

Editor: Rosemary Bechler

Head of Operations: Jenny Moran

Technical and Publishing Coordinator: Matthew Linares

Assistant Editor: En Liang Khong

Operations Assistant: Anna Liberadzki

Founder: Anthony Barnett

Editor-at-large: Benjamin Ramm

Can Europe Make It? editorial team: Rosemary Bechler, Alex Sakalis

Arab Awakening editorial team: Rosemary Bechler, Rana Nessim, Mariam Ali, Walid el Houri

digitaLiberties editorial teamRosemary BechlerDavid Krivanek

Contributing Editor: Tony Curzon Price

Contributing Editor: Magnus Nome

Contributing Editor: Rob Sharp

Columnists: Dan Hancox, Mary Kaldor, Paul Rogers, Martin Rose, Markha Valenta, Vron Ware, James Warner

Publishing and data support: Kadie Armstrong

Back to top


EditorsAdam Ramsay and Clare Sambrook 

Intern: Eleanor Penny

Contributing Editors:

Oliver HuitsonJamie MackayStuart WeirLis HowellAnthony Barnett


Editors: Ellie Mae O'HaganJamie Mackay and Mike Flood Page.


Editor: Caroline Molloy


Editor: Charlotte Threipland

Back to top


Section Editor: Thomas Rowley 

Associate EditorNatalia Antonova

Russian-language Editor: Mikhail Kaluzhsky

Commissioning EditorMaxim Edwards

Translation Editor: Elizabeth Barnes

Founder Editor: Susan Richards

Back to top


Editor:  Niki Seth-Smith 

Dialogue Editors:  Jennifer Allsopp (People on the Move), 

Design and Publishing:
Kadie Armstrong

Back to top


Editor: Mike Edwards

Back to top


EditorFrancesc Badia i Dalmases

Sub-EditorOleguer Sarsanedas

Junior EditorManuel Nunes Ramires Serrano

Chair Editorial Board: Jeremy Fox

Back to top

Volunteer publishing team

We have a team of volunteers who help with article preparation and comment moderation – read more if you are interested in joining our programme. Current volunteers: Annie Walker-Trafford (volunteer coordinator) Dylan Brethour, Priyanka Menon, Katherine Soroya and Thames Menteth.

Back to top

openDemocracy Board

Chair of the Board
David Elstein

Mary Fitzgerald

Director of Finance
Peter Johnson

Anthony Barnett

Rosemary Bechler

Technical Director & Contributing Editor
Tony Curzon Price

Non-executive Director
John Mills

Non-executive Director
Michael Mitchell

Non-executive Director
Turi Munthe

Non-executive Director
Magnus Nome

Non-executive Director
Elaine Potter

Non-executive Director
Susan Richards

Non-executive Director
Laura Sandys MP

Technical Advisory Board

Cory Ondrejka
Bill Thompson
Jonathan Zittrain

Technical Team

Server, Technical Support and Drupal Development by Linterweb.
Design by Oli Sylvester-Bradley of Defacto Design and Elevator Cafe.

We encourage anyone to comment, please consult the
oD commenting guidelines if you have any questions.